Letting Go

image

I wrote this at the end of the first year without my spouse. It is now a little over two years and things are more calm. I feel a sense of peace within myself. That’s not to say there is no more ambushes, but they hurt less.

Karl

It’s been a year since you left us.

A year that I was mostly mad.

Mad that you were a man

Mad that you were human

Mad that you were sick

Mad at myself for being mad

Mad that you left me before I was ready to let you go.

But as the tentative spring came, the Pelicans soaring overhead and the warm sun at my feet

I forgive

I miss you, I love you.  I know you are free.

I understand.

I’m not mad anymore.

Just happy for the life and love we shared

Happy for the family and friends left behind.

3 thoughts on “Letting Go

Leave a Reply

