Rainy Day Reads 13/2/2016

Walking around the the little mountain town of Pemberton, I came across an outdoor library.  Lovely, as I had just finished Mother  of Pearl by Melinda Heynes.  It was a good read, about a small town in Mississippi in the 50’s.  It looked at segregation of blacks, whites and class in America at that time.  It looked at what constitutes a family.  It explored religion and family values.

I have been reading a lot, the weather has been drizzly and raining and dull.  We have seen sunshine.  The last time was briefly on the 9th.

The outdoor library is like a treasure box and only costs you a read book.  I turned in Mother of Pearl and took The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo.  My friends who have read it have enjoyed it, so I’ll give it a shot.  I hope everyone is comfy and cozy and enjoying something pleasant.  Cheers!

4 thoughts on “Rainy Day Reads 13/2/2016

  1. HI Donna, you will find that both gripping and disturbing. I predict you wont be able to put it down. I read it when we were in Mexico for Matthew’s wedding and finished it in a couple of days…then didn’t have anything else to read. On the way home I bought the second book in the airport book store. I have all three books if you are able to wait to read the second and third ’till when you come here.
    Enjoy the rain.
    Cathie

    Like

Leave a Reply

